A Beautiful Person

By Alessandra Paul

            El Paso is filled with beautiful people and marvelous artists of all sorts; one particular person is opera singer and teacher Yvonne Loftin, who has captivated audience’s worldwide and dedicated her whole life to helping students.

As I waited for Yvonne Loftin’s music class to conclude, I led myself inside her classroom as kids from the St.Joseph’s School rushed out,

Sitting with her legs crossed and slouching just a bit, she smiled as I asked her to tell me about her life.

“I actually went to Loretto all my life and graduated from there. Then, I went to UTEP, and at the age of 18 I sang my first opera, Madama Butterfly, in which I played the lead.  I left UTEP, and I traveled a lot all over the world, singing.”

            Mrs. Loftin has been a professional singer for 40 years; she loves teaching music and has helped young singers succeed in the music world; furthermore, she founded the El Paso Music Conservatory in 2004 with her husband, Prentice Loftin, and has taught many great singers, including Marie Gailey, former Loretto Alumni.

            As an opera singer, she lived and performed in Spain, Mexico, and other places representing the American Embassy and the Department of State in Mexico; this she states have been some of the highlights in her life.

            After traveling and living in many different places, she came back to El Paso because of her children, and performed in Tosca, the musical event of the year and the first opera staged here in El Paso. 

            “Other highlights in my life,” she added, “have been performing for the National Public Radio with my students, who received a $75,000 scholarship for the New England Conservatory.”

            Mrs. Loftin then referred to her husband as her inspiration in life; “We both are very united in helping artists through the Conservatory. We have the strongest desire to help them; there are so many talented people here in El Paso.”

            She loves hearing from all the young people whom she has taught. She explained how that is one of her joys in life, finding out her students grow to be wonderful singers.

             I asked a last question: a favorite role she had ever portrayed; Mrs. Loftin, overfilled with excitement, remembering that exact moment, she said: “Tosca! She dies! I love drama and death! And I love Puccini! All his music is so dramatic and beautiful.”

            The goodbye came and she hugged me affectionately as she. explained how we need to appreciate art and  encourage and help all the young artists who will eventually enrich our lives.

